Hope for the future.

My students are taking a test –  as in this very moment –   I forgot to remind them that they might want to pick up a straight edge for one of the graphing problems on the test.   It is very quiet as they diligently work from one problem to the next.  But A. just got up and went over to pick up a straightedge – obviously she was the first to get to the graphing problem.  But she did not just pick up a straightedge for herself – she got one for each of her classmates and delivered them to their desks.   Yes it is a small class,  and yes A. is a particularly bright student, but sill,  in the fairly competitive environment that exists at our school,  it is reassuring to observe  a thoughtful act like this in the middle of the test.   Obviously, A’s mother brought her up right 🙂  

Many years ago when I lived in NH and coached the cycling team we went to a race at the Louden race track.   The track is a 1/3 of a mile so it was common that the strong riders would lap the weaker ones.    One cyclist, in particular was outstanding, and he lapped the entire field of riders.   At one point in the race  he came upon a cyclist whose chain had fallen off the sprocket.    He got off of his bike and helped the younger cyclist get his chain back in order and then resumed the race, cruising to a victory.    Critics said that he was showing off, but I think that it was a genuine act of kindness – the kind of thing that one remembers after all these years..   it looks like A. has just achieved that same level of admiration in my book – one more story to recall when I am retired, sitting at the helm of my boat off of the coast of Maine, grateful for my family, for  the environment that I am in and  for all of the wonderful people I have met over the years…

2 comments on “Hope for the future.

  1. marymaryone says:

    It sure gives one hope for the future to hear stories like this. Sounds like you are longing for those retirement days:)

    • lifeat6mph says:

      glad you enjoyed the story.. As for retirement, I certainly don’t view it like my parents’ generation did – no sitting around watching TV and playing pinachle! ( well, perhaps some pinachle on a rainy day here and then) in fact I imagine working with my hands – carpentry, woodworking, boatbuilding – as long as I am able. But the more technology invades the classroom, the less comfortable I am in the classroom. I love the internet – following blogs of folks who are doing some very interesting things with their lives, and I used to really enjoy computer programing back in college, but I have come to realize that education does not need to be nearly as expensive as and complicated as we are being forced to believe. A few great books, some paper and a bunch of pencils, a compass and a straight edge and protractor are all that a truly inquisitive mind needs, at least in the early stages of education – as in the first 10 years 🙂 the irony of education, as I see it, is that the very creativity and imagination that inspired the computing age is now being stifled by the omnipresent technology that has become a part of our students’ lives.. that is probably a much bigger response than you anticipated! retirement will be ok when it arrives 🙂

Leave a Reply

